如何在远程桌面上使用本地 USB 设备 - USB 透过 RDP

Last updated

使用 RDP 在远程桌面设置的操作时,面临的挑战之一是何时需要在会话中使用本地连接的 USB 设备。 如果您正在使用 RDP 于远程服务器上运行应用程序,则很难将 USB 设备连接到远程桌面。 这可能会限制您的外围 USB 设备的用途。

有一个实现远程桌面 USB 重定向的解决方案,因此您的应用程序可以使用本地设备。 本文将介绍一种有效的软件应用程序,该应用程序可轻松实现用于远程桌面的 USB。 此工具使用简单的界面,只需单击几下,即可设置 USB 直通到 RDP 会话。

内容

  1. 一种用于将 USB 流量重定向到远程桌面会话的软件解决方案
  2. 如何重定向 USB 到远程桌面
  3. 有用的 FlexiHub 功能,用于在远程桌面上使用本地 USB 设备
  4. 透过 RDP 重定向 USB 时可能出现的问题
  5. 常见问题集

一种用于将 USB 流量重定向到远程桌面会话的软件解决方案


Electronic Team, Inc 的 FlexiHub 是一种软件工具,旨在透过网络访问 USB 外围设备。 使用该应用程序创建 USB 远程桌面连接时,可以在远程计算机中使用具有与直接物理连接相同功能的设备。 该工具使您可以轻松地将 USB 共享到 RDP,并增加外围设备的价值。

FlexiHub

Windows, macOS, Linux, Android
4.8 Rank 基于 78+ 用户
FlexiHub 通过与远程桌面会话共享本地计算机的 USB 端口来工作。 一旦将 USB 设备插入本地计算机,便可以在远程桌面会话中访问它们。
FlexiHub

FlexiHub 为用户提供了一种在远程桌面环境中设置 USB 重定向的用户友好且有效的方法。 与某些其他解决方案不同,不需要单独安装服务器和客户端部分。 应用程序为用户提供一个统一的界面,该界面显示所有可用的 USB 设备,并使它们能够连接到 RDP 会话。

运行 FlexiHub 不需要特殊的系统配置,它支持多种 USB 设备。

如何重定向 USB 到远程桌面


用户需要创建一个免费的 FlexiHub 帐户,才能开始透过 TCP/IP 网络将其 USB 设备与远程计算机一起使用。 提供了 7 天的免费试用版,以便您调查应用程序的功能。

帐户创建完成后,请按照以下步骤设置透过远程桌面连接的 USB。

  1. 下载并安装 FlexiHub 在物理连接到 USB 设备(称为服务器)的计算机。 将透过 RDP 远程访问 USB 外围设备的计算机称为客户端,并且也需要安装该应用程序。

  2. 在服务器和客户端启动 FlexiHub,并使用相同的 ID 和密码登录到您的帐户。

  3. 在客户端计算机的应用程序中找到要访问的 USB 设备,然后单击「连接」。

建立连接后,客户端计算机将立即识别该设备。



有用的 FlexiHub 功能,用于在远程桌面上使用本地 USB 设备


  1. FlexiHub 使用 2048 位 SSL 加密安全地传输数据,从而提供了额外的数据保护层。 如此可以防止他人滥用您的数据。

  2. FlexiHub 自动检测连接到服务器的设备。 连接外围设备后,应用程序会立即检测到它并使其与客户端共享。 您可以 在远程桌面中使用 3D 鼠标、网络摄像头、键盘、智能卡读取器并快速和轻松地共享更多类型的 USB 设备。

  3. 应用程序不需要公共 IP 地址,因为它使用内部重定向服务器透过 RDP 共享 USB 流量。 如此,无法检测到服务器的计算机仍可以将 RDP 会话连接到 USB 设备。

  4. FlexiHub 将 USB 设备连接到 RDP 会话时,不需要您在远程计算机上安装 USB 驱动器。

  5. FlexiHub 支持在 Windows, Mac, 和 Linux 平台上运行的远程桌面。 您可以透过任何协议连接到 USB 设备,包括 Microsoft 终端机服务, Azure, Hyper-V, VMware, Citrix XenDesktop, 和许多其它。

透过 RDP 重定向 USB 时可能出现的问题


您可以使用本机操作系统功能将 USB 通信重定向到远程桌面,但是您可能会遇到困难。 由于带宽和网络延迟等问题,某些设备比其他设备工作得更好。

可以看到一个示例,该示例需要一致性高吞吐量的 USB 设备。 延迟可能会影响其在 VDI 会话中的功能。 USB 3.0 设备尝试在客户端上使用 USB 2.0 端口时可能会遇到另一个问题。

在选择将在本机 USB 重定向环境中使用的 USB 设备时,IT 团队需要紧记外围设备的性能要求。

将 USB 重定向到远程桌面时要考虑的因素


  • USB 音频设备时,网络状态至关重要。 不建议将不可靠的网络用于这些设备,因为它们即使在闲置时也需要高吞吐量。

  • 由于高带宽要求(通常超过 60 Mbps),USB 重定向不支持网络摄像头。

  • USB 扫描仪的性能直接与网络状态有关,并且扫描可能需要比预期更长的时间。

  • WANs 可能会引起延迟和可靠性问题,从而影响 USB 设备的性能。 当通过 WAN 读取大文件时,举例说明了该问题。 每个读取请求都需要在远程桌面和设备之间进行三步双向传输。 网络延迟的微小差异可能会因多个请求而变得复杂,从而导致性能大幅下降。

  • 性能可能会受到大型 USB 磁盘上使用的文件结构影响。 首次连接后,在 RDP 会话中识别这些可能会花费大量时间。 不可靠的网络链接会导致多次重试,从而降低性能。 使用 NTFS 代替 FAT 作为基础文件系统可以缩短连接时间。

  • 在具有延迟问题的 WAN 上尝试使用 USB CD/DVD 阅读器、扫描仪和触摸设备时,它们也会出现问题。

常见问题集

USB 重定向 (通用串行总线重定向) 是一种技术过程,使用户可以从远程应用程序或桌面会话访问连接到 USB 端口的外围设备。
FlexiHub 可用于 Windows, Linux, 和 Mac 计算机,并提供真正的跨平台兼容性。 操作系统任何组合中的服务器和客户端都可以用于透过基于 IP 的网络共享 USB 设备。 无论客户端使用什么操作系统,特定平台上的服务器都可以与客户端共享设备。
诸如扫描仪之类的 USB 设备由于对资源的需求很高,因此不是重定向的主要选择。 一个问题是扫描仪使用受网络带宽或延迟影响的背对背过程。 从 USB 扫描仪重定向流量可能会导致设备性能下降,从而降低生产率。
下载并安装 FlexiHub 在物理连接到外围设备的计算机上。 然后,将其安装在将于远程桌面会话中远程访问设备的计算机上。 打开 FlexiHub,找到 USB 设备,然后单击「连接」按钮

FlexiHub

Requirements: Windows XP/2003/2008/Vista/7/8/10/Server 2012
Size: 6.98MB
Version: 4.0.12598 ()
用户评分: (4.8 基于 78+ 用户 )

USB For Remote Desktop: A Definitive Guide

Last updated

One of the challenges faced when operating over the RDP protocol is when it is necessary to use local USB devices inside the remote desktop session. If you are running an application on a remote server using RDP, it can be very difficult to connect some USB devices to the remote desktop.

This article will describe an effective software application that makes it easy to enable remote desktop USB redirection. Read on to learn the detailed steps for connecting USBs to remote desktop, and find out what challenges may arise when using USB over RDP.

Software for redirecting USB devices in remote desktop

FlexiHub

Windows, macOS, Linux, Android
4.8 Rank based on 78+ users
FlexiHub by Electronic Team, Inc is a software tool developed to provide access to USB peripheral devices over the network for use in remote desktop sessions.
FlexiHub

When using the app to create a USB remote desktop connection, devices can be used on the remote machines with the same level of functionality as if they had a direct physical connection.

FlexiHub makes it easy accessing USB devices in remote desktop session, and avoid most common issues related to redirecting USB over RDP.

FlexiHub works by sharing the USB ports of the local computer with remote desktop instances. This makes it possible to access USB devices in remote desktop sessions as soon as they are plugged into the local machine.

FlexiHub offers users a user-friendly and efficient method of setting up USB redirection in remote desktop environments.

Unlike some other solutions, there is not a separate server and client portion that needs to be installed. The application presents users with a unified interface that displays all available devices for remote desktop USB passthrough.

No special system configuration is required to run FlexiHub and it supports a wide range of USB devices.

How to redirect USB to remote desktop

Follow these steps to connect USBs to remote desktop:
blank
1
Create a FlexiHub account to start using their USB devices with remote machines over a TCP/IP network.

*A free 7-day trial is offered so you can investigate the power of the application.
 register flexihub account
2
Download and install FlexiHub on the computer that is physically attached to the USB device which will be referred to as the server. Machines that will remotely access the USB peripheral over the RDP are called clients and also need to have the application installed.
 download flexihub
3
Launch FlexiHub on the server and client and log into your account with the same ID and password.
 login to flexihub to use usb in remote desktop
4
Find the USB device you wish to access in the app on the client computer and click Connect.
 connect usb to remote desktop
6
Once the connection is established the device will immediately be recognized by the client machine.

Here is the demonstration of FlexiHub in action, and how it connects USBs to remote desktop:

Advanced FlexiHub features for using USB in remote desktop


  1. FlexiHub securely transmits data using 2048-bit SSL encryption offering an extra layer of data protection. This keeps your data safe from misuse by other third parties.
  2. FlexiHub automatically detects devices connected to the server. As soon as a peripheral is attached, the app detects it and enables it to be shared with clients. You can use 3D mouse in remote desktop, webcams, keyboards, smart card readers, and share many more types of USB devices quickly and easily.
  3. The application does not require a public IP address since it uses a proprietary redirection server for sharing USB devices. This allows computers that can’t detect the server to still connect an RDP session and the USB device.
  4. FlexiHub does not require you to install USB drives on the remote machine when it connects a USB device to an RDP session.
  5. FlexiHub supports remote desktops running on the Windows, Mac, and Linux platforms. You can connect to a USB device from any protocol including Microsoft Terminal Services, Azure, Hyper-V, VMware, Citrix XenDesktop, and many others.

Redirecting USB over RDP protocol - potential difficulties

You can use native operating system capabilities to redirect USB devices over RDP but you may run into difficulties. Certain devices work better than others because of certain issues such as bandwidth and network latency.

An example can be seen with USB devices that need consistently high throughput. Latency may impact their functionality in a VDI session. Another problem can come up with USB 3.0 devices attempting to use a USB 2.0 port on the client.

When sharing USB devices over RDP, an IT team needs to keep in mind the performance requirements of the peripheral equipment.

Use USB in remote desktop without limitations
7-day trial subscription

Factors to consider when sharing USB over RDP

  • The state of the network is crucial when using USB audio devices. Unreliable networks are not recommended for these devices, as they need high throughput even when idle.
  • Webcams are not supported when forwarding USB over remote desktop due to high bandwidth requirements that usually exceed 60 Mbps.
  • The performance of USB scanners is directly related to the network’s state and scans may take longer than anticipated.
  • WANs can pose latency and reliability issues that impact the performance of USB devices. An example of the problem is illustrated when reading a large file across the WAN. Each read request demands three two-way transfers between the remote desktop and a device. A small difference in network latency can be compounded over multiple requests to cause substantial performance degradation.
  • Performance can be impacted by the file structure used on large USB disks. These can take a considerable amount of time to be recognized in an RDP session after being connected for the first time. Unreliable network links result in multiple retries which reduces performance. Using NTFS instead of FAT as the underlying filesystem can speed up connection time.
  • USB CD/DVD readers, scanners, and touch devices also exhibit problems when usage is attempted on a WAN that has latency issues.

Frequently Asked Questions

USB redirection (Universal Serial Bus redirection) is a technology that enables users to access peripheral devices connected to a USB port from remote applications or desktop sessions.
FlexiHub is available for Windows, Linux, and Mac computers and offers true cross-platform compatibility. Servers and clients in any combination of operating systems can be used to share USB devices over an IP-based network. A server on a specific platform can share devices with clients no matter what OS they are using.
USB devices such as scanners are not prime candidates for redirection due to their high resource demands. One issue is the scanner’s use of back-to-back processes that are affected by network bandwidth or latency. Redirecting traffic from a USB scanner may result in decreased device performance.
Download and install FlexiHub on the machine with the physical connection to the peripheral device. Then, install it on the computer that will remotely access the device in a remote desktop session. Open FlexiHub, locate the USB device, and click the Connect button

FlexiHub

Requirements: Windows XP/2003/2008/Vista/7/8/10/Server 2012
Size: 6.97MB
Version: 4.1.12932 ()
User rating: (4.8 based on 78+ users)